AN INSPIRATIONAL JOURNEY, PLEASE JOIN ME

12 02 2012

Hello and welcome to my special journey

I previously mentioned three things: Firstly, the article that was published in 2009 in an American newspaper ridiculed and debased the book of which I was the ghost writer (RUTH ELLIS MY SISTER’S SECRET LIFE) to the level of a vampire novel. This upset me. Ruth Ellis was the last woman in the UK to be hanged for murder in 1955. Whilst writing the book I sat with Ruth Ellis’s sister Muriel Jakubait for three years, listening to her recollections and harrowing story. I was humbled to learn that every day for the last 57 years she has had the vision of her sister hanging from the end of a rope. No one can possibly understand what that has been like for Muriel who is now 92 years old.

Secondly I previously mentioned that opportunities have arisen in my life since 1999, the year I took photographs of the three children on a damp, midgy Sunday afternoon on the Isle of Harris, that would have seemed unthinkable nearly thirteen years later.

Thirdly, I mentioned on THE PATTINSON CONNECTION blog, that I have a condition called Bell’s Palsy.

So perhaps now is the time to tell you how by chance I became a writer. And how by chance I subsequently became involved in ghost writing the book about Ruth Ellis. Then you may understand why I was disgusted with the 2009 article; how I am not a’ victim’; how I do not say ‘poor me’; and how in a society obsessed by beauty,  it is crucial for people with facial disfigurement to gain confidence and fight their fears.

TO BEGIN

On Christmas Eve in 1995 I woke up to a cup of tea brought by my partner who then opened the curtains. I would have welcomed the sun normally, but that morning it was unbearable. I couldn’t look at the light and then I realised I was dribbling from the side of my mouth.

I was working then as a gift buyer for a national charity and had been suffering from a heavy cold, very unusual for me, and work had been stressful. When I got up that morning I walked past the mirror and was shocked. I saw a face that didn’t belong to me. My right eye was staring, my mouth was drooping down at the side and my right nostril was running. I thought I may have had a stroke. It may sound incredible but I was so caught up in the work situation (I was brought up just to get on with things) and went along to one of our charity’s local shops to check everything was OK. The ladies pursuaded me to go home because I looked so awful.

It wasn’t until 10 pm that evening that I went to hospital where I was diagnosed with Bell’s Palsy which is a form of facial paralysis resulting from a dysfunction of the cranial nerve.

Although most Bell’s Palsy patients recover completely within weeks or months I was not so lucky. I was unable to use one side of my mouth, I couldn’t blow my nose and I had to wear an eye patch. Because the left side of my face compensated I developed a mandibular joint disorder and the palsy made it difficult to speak clearly.

I tried to carry on working but became increasingly alienated and stressed at work – the final straw came after an unpleasant incident there in 1999. (It was just three months after  I photographed the three children on that grey day in the Outer Hebrides). At lunchtime I walked out of the door and never went back. I had to fight for my rights and there was an employment tribunal. The humiliation then was probably the rock bottom point for me. I was not going there again, not ever.

I received strong support from my family doctor whose advice ‘not to sit in a corner and do nothing’ inspired me. I got on with things. An inner strength must have kicked in.

I am a keen photographer and thought perhaps I could learn to write and become a photojournalist. I began a writing course, some of my articles were published in newspapers but it was a magazine piece about our local fishmonger, about whom I knew nothing other than he sold fish, that turned out to be life-changing. The fishmonger was so grateful for the free write-up in a glossy magazine, he told me the story about one of his customers whom he used to serve in another fish shop some years before. Her name was Muriel Jakubait.

He told me how Muriel was the sister of Ruth Ellis, the last woman to be executed in the UK.

It was this chance connection with the fishmonger that eventually led to my writing the successful book RUTH ELLIS MY SISTER’S SECRET LIFE.

Doors seemed to be opening for me as I resolved to take control of my fears about my facial disfigurement. Confidence was everything. I also joined Toastmasters International (worldwide public speaking organisation) where over a period of time and within a safe, non-judgmental environment, I found my voice. I was able to stand in front of an audience and give presentations with confidence, the best of gifts. Instead of being obsessed with perfection in physical appearance, one of the greatest qualities anyone, including those with facial disfigurements, can possess is confidence. In my opinion we should be obsessed with gaining confidence in our lives.

LA VIE EN ROSE   

Before I begin the next part of my story about Ruth Ellis herself, you may like to listen to a song called “LA VIE EN ROSE” sung by the late Edith Piaf. It  was Ruth Ellis’s favourite song:      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0g4NiHef4Ks

THE NAME RUTH ELLIS, to many people worldwide, conjures up the image of the peroxide blonde, divorced woman,  mother of two young children, a London nightclub hostess and a part time prostitute who shot dead her playboy, womanising, racing car driver lover David Blakely (aged 25) in a fit of jealousy, in 1955. Ruth Ellis became the last woman to be hanged in Britain.

The shooting outside the Magdala public house in Hampstead in North London, has been described ever since as an open-and-shut case of cold-blooded murder in which no-one else was involved. Yet at the time of writing our book there were still some  secret files on the case locked away from public scrutiny until 2031.

Ruth Ellis, who at the time of the murder was 28, admitted pulling the trigger of the heavy .38 Smith and Wesson revolver.

The two-day trial at the Old Bailey in London was notable for its lack of forensic and ballistic evidence. Christmas Humphreys, a Buddhist, and counsel for the prosecution set out to prove that Ruth Ellis killed David Blakely. Ruth’s defence team led by Melford Stevenson did virtually nothing to help her. Ruth Ellis had pleaded not guilty, but with the death penalty looming she was entitled to a proper defence.

With access to records previously unavailable at The National Archives, and new witness statements, in our book I presented a range of evidence that the Old Bailey in 1955 never got to hear; evidence pointing to the fact that Ruth Ellis was innocent of the crime for which she was hanged. She died for another person’s crime, having lied to protect him.

Fairly simple fact finding and research for Muriel’s autobiography turned out to be more complicated than I thought at first. It became an extraordinary detailed piece of detective work for first hand evidence in my search for the truth. I followed my instincts. I stopped looking for answers and took one step at a time in looking for facts. Muriel, Ruth Ellis’s sister, told me about landmarks in her life and recollections of events. I followed up with my own solid research and investigation, comparing new findings with previously published conflicting information.

From small beginnings a picture developed of Ruth’s life, stripped of fifty years of fictitious opinion. An unseen side of the last woman to be hanged emerged, as I dug deeper in my investigations; something not uncovered at the time of Ruth’s trial, or since. I tracked suspicious addresses, so-called businesses that did not actually exist, incorrect names on official documents that enabled characters in the Ruth Ellis story to change their identities and mislead anyone who dared to look for them. It took considerable effort to strip fact from fiction. But caught up in a tangle of new connections were clues. I kept an open mind and did not accept things at face value.

The real story about Ruth Ellis began slotting into place.

I hope you enjoyed reading this Post which is intended as a glimpse of our book RUTH ELLIS MY SISTER’S SECRET LIFE ……

….FOR more insights please see  MORE ABOUT RUTH ELLIS’ Page, above

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Ruth-Ellis-Sisters-Secret-Life/dp/1845291190

Monica Weller

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

